Bookmark Monday: Easter readings

This week is Holy Week.
I’d planned some Lent craft activities in the calendar, but have been so consumed by the daily rushing and rumbling of keeping household and work life running, I fell behind.
But it is amazing how God’s Holy Spirit can use an innocent heart (and His kingdom belongs to such as these!) to precipitate a diverted perspective into needful action.

*****

“When we get home I want to read my Bible.”
“Okay.”
“When I read my Bible, does that make you and Daddy happy?”
“Well…Yes. But more importantly, God is happy, dear.”
“Jesus is happy too?”
“Yes. God and Jesus are happy.”
“Mummy, I want to read my Bible every day.”

*****

Exchanging raised eyebrows and cryptic glances, DH and I wonder what to make of this little exchange.

It feels like we’ve been suddenly drenched in a surprise rainshower of heavenly glory.
And we’re still doing a double…triple take in slow motion.
(And I’m still not satisfied with the way I’ve written this…words fail me as I grasp for the right nouns, verbs, adjectives and find them not.)

It’s been percolating in my mind all Sunday.

What do you do with all that shining shimmering golden – suspended, glimmering, twinkling – all around you?

We don’t know what brought it on, we don’t know how long this moment will last, and we just know we have to make something of it, but we don’t quite know what…

For two evenings now, she’s taken out her Bible, curled up in blanket and pillows and flipped open a page.
She’s read of Moses and the Israelites wandering in the desert, and the walls of Jericho, and Zacchaeus.

And as she carefully placed her Bible back onto the shelf on Sunday night, I figure this is great, but we probably need a little more direction and a little less random.

So I’ve put aside our original plan and weaved together a new series of readings that we’ve just started. There’s no art-and-craft planned. No accompanying activity.

But then…maybe that’s all not necessary.

Only what is needed is to sit at His feet and soak up His words of life…

 

** Our readings are taken from the Learn-to-Read-Bible by Heather Gemmen, published by Faith Kidz (Cook Communications Ministries). **     

  • Palm Sunday – “Hosanna! Jesus’s triumphal entry into Jerusalem” Luke 19:29-38
  • Monday – “God’s Plan – Jesus talks about His death” John 16:16-28
  • Tuesday – “The Lord’s Supper” Luke 22:14-20
  • Wednesday – “Jesus Prays in the Gethsemane” Luke 22:39-46; Mark 14:32-42
  • Maundy Thursday – “Jesus is arrested and tried” Luke 22:54, 23:2-5; John 19:6
  • Good Friday – “Jesus dies on the cross” Luke 23:33-34, 46
  • Saturday – “Jesus is alive! Can it be true?” John 19:40-42; Matthew 28:5-8
  • Easter Sunday – “Jesus is risen and He will come back” John 20:11-18; Luke 24:36-43; Matthew 28:19-20 

*****

Break now the bread of life, dear Lord, to me,
as once you broke the loaves beside the sea:
beyond the sacred page I seek you, Lord:
my spirit longs for you, O living Word

*****

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

