In my world: Feels so alive

Last Sunday, the parents and children of the Nursery Sunday School class were enjoying the birthday celebration of one of the children so much, that we forgot to hand out their Easter colouring sheets for the kids to bring home. 🙂

Later on, when a friend and I were clearing up, we noticed the colouring sheets laid out on the shelf, so we distributed them to the parents and children who hadn’t yet left, and I collected my own son’s colouring sheet.

I noticed he had written the number 5, and drawn a smiley face on the tomb where Jesus had been buried. So being just like any other proud mummy of my two-and-a-half year old emergent writer, I whipped out my phone camera, and took a picture of the work.

In the back of my mind, I did wonder why he had chosen to write the number 5, and not any other number.  Then we started making plans for lunch with our friends, and I thought nothing more of it.

Till today. Five days later. It suddenly struck me that one of his favourite songs on tv from half a year ago, is from a program called Charlie and the Numbers.  The song does a count from one to ten with rhyming words. Click here for the full lyrics.

…Being number five, feels so alive…

Could it be?

That maybe his Sunday School teacher mentioned Easter is when we celebrate that Jesus is risen, He is alive, (very common keywords used in teaching an Easter themed lesson) and some synapse in his brain linked the phrase from the numbers song for “five” and the Easter lesson’s “alive”? 

If that’s true – wow….

***** 

Sometimes in the middle of cleaning the rooms, I discover little gems left behind by the children. This Friday series was started with the intention of celebrating the imagination and creativity in a young child’s world…and hoping that it’ll bring a little ray of inspiration and joy to your day, as it does mine.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

