Kids Say: “Mummy, I want to go to office with you…”

Some mornings when I leave for work, the kids say this to me.
And DD has said it more than once, especially after I have had the opportunity to spend an extended time at home on leave.

A couple of weeks ago, my firm organized a Bring Your Kids to Work Day.
So I figured, why not, and brought DD.
They had an extensive program planned with popcorn and candy floss on the menu, a DVD showing in an auditorium, scented candle making, shrink art caricature, glamour shots, balloon man, clown and magic show.

But before all that, life at work still had to go on and she sat quietly by my side, drawing pictures of horses, giraffes and a wildebeest being attacked by three lions (uh, yeah…I’ll save that explanation for another post…), as I went through a couple of meetings.

That all done and out of the way…when we’d gotten ourselves a balloon horse, taken some fun photos, gone round to all the art and craft stations and finally sat down with our food, I felt the need to bring reality into the picture and tell DD that none of these really happened on a daily basis at my office.  (Bummer!)  😛

The truth, my dear, is that mummy spends the day going through many meetings, like the ones you sat through, and working on spreadsheets and documents all day on the computer. (Booooring!)  😉

Writing this out now, I remember how I really enjoyed the occasional visit to my mother’s office as a little girl. And sitting at her desk with wide eyes admiring all the paperwork she went through, and how she helped resolved people’s issues on a daily basis.

No balloons or fanfare, just regular business-as-usual work days,  but I thought it was all so cool, and my mum was so important. But most of all, I liked just sitting beside her at her desk, sharing her teatime snacks and, just hangin’ out with my mum.

I don’t know if I could attain for DD, what my mum did for her little girl, but that little girl, now all grown up does hope and aspire to it.

That is, to let her own little girl know that mummy doing important looking stuff at work might be cool, but ultimately…for me, just being with her, whether at office or at home…is gold

And I hope she thinks the same way. 🙂

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Kids Say: “Mummy, I want to go to office with you…””

  1. Asta Burrows says :

    I used to love going to my dads office to play with paperclips and lots of other ‘exciting’ things, now though, that I spend everyday in an office I can’t really understand what I found so exciting! 🙂

    • iwonderbee says :

      Hi Asta,

      Thanks for leaving a comment. Yeah I share those sentiments too. Although there are some days that things go wonderfully and I feel like I’ve achieved something, I’m not sure why I was in such a hurry during my childhood to start working! Maybe you just loved being in your dad’s office. 🙂 I do believe that for young children, as long as they’re with daddy and mummy, everything is exciting.

Leave a Reply

