Keep Calm and Carry On

I’ve been feeling like a loser in the past week. A couple of efforts we’ve been pursuing were not gaining any traction and developments were so slow a snail could have thumbed his nose at us lagging behind at the finish line. It felt like if only we’d started earlier, or been more aggressive, or sacrificed on the sacred, just for that little bit, we’d now be in a better place.

But a still small voice kept reminding me about Ecclesiastes 3:11 – “He has made everything beautiful in its time”, a verse our pastor spoke on a few weeks ago.

And so on Sunday, as we drove home from church, DH and I concluded that tough as it were to be perceived as having missed the boat…even if mainstream wisdom deemed our actions un-savvy by normal economic logic and reasoning, having done all we can, we will continue to trust God to direct our paths.

We will not fight roadblocks seemingly being put in our way…
We will not lament opportunities missed…
but take each in our stride, believing that God has a better plan.

And just today, I think, things are starting to look up.
Not that we have suddenly achieved overnight, what we were seeking.
The work remains to be done.

But today, we started to see the reasons why events happened the way they did; that every closed door and every missed opportunity, was a blessing that we did not recognise at the time.
Today, I am reminded in more ways than two 😉 , of an old and well-loved memory verse in Jeremiah 29:11, and I comprehend it a little more than before.

Two days ago, I felt like a loser.
Today, there’s a renewed confidence and divine calm in my heart, that my God and my Lord is in charge.
Knowing that as long as I do my part in honouring and trusting Him, He will take care of the rest.
Whether it goes well in the physical realm for us or not, it will always, go well with my soul.

Many, O Lord my God, are the wonders you have done.
The things you planned for us no one can recount to you;
Were I to speak and tell of them,
They would be too many to declare. ~ Psalm 40:5

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

