Kids Say: “Daddy, I need it!”

One weekend afternoon when DS was beginning to get on his sister’s nerves and I was beginning to get tired of mediating between the two, DH decided to bring him out on a short drive to the supermarket to get the week’s breakfast supplies.  Just Daddy and son time.

When DH returned, he recounted to me his experience pushing the trolley down the aisle with sauces and condiments (in glass bottles!) on one side, and canned food (still fairly lethal…) on the other side of the aisle.

DS would reach out for a random vinegar bottle and state –

“Daddy, I need it!”

“No, son, you don’t.”

And DH would swing the trolley away, to which DS’s reaction was to stretch his arm out the other side towards the cans of corned beef, declaring…

yup, you got it…

“Daddy, I need it!”

It made me laugh so hard I wish I’d been there to see it.

And then.  It made me think about the times I plead with God, our Heavenly Father, for things – 

“Daddy, I need it!”

And the answer sometimes comes back as –  

“No, daughter, you don’t.”

And how, when I stop whinging long enough to get into a more rational state, I realise deep down in my heart that whatever I was asking for…wasn’t because I needed it.

I just wanted it.  Just….because it was there.  Like asking for vinegar or corned beef when what was really needed was cereal and fresh milk in the dairy section a couple of metres down beyond the aisle.

*****

“Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! ~ Matthew 7: 9-11

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

