Alphabet Wall: Making…v is for vine

I originally started out trying to use pipe cleaners for this craft but after an hour’s worth of twisting, undoing, retwisting and in the process, gaining tiny but painful, scratches all over my fingers from the exposed wires, I decided there had to be a better and more preschooler-safe way of doing this.

A couple of days later, an idea to use real twigs and brown string planted itself in my mind.  🙂

You will need the following materials: plant twigs, scissors, cellophane tape, brown string, purple colour paper, glue, artblock sheet, marker.

1. Duck out to a nearby park to gather twigs, ideally forked ones. Make it a family outing! 😀   (More power to you if you manage to find v-shaped twigs. I made do with y-shaped ones).

2. Trim the twigs to the shape required. Secure a few together with some cellophane tape to make your vine more sturdy.

3. (Optional step) If you are like me and can’t stand the fact that twigs keep shedding little brown bits, mix two teaspoons of water to one teaspoon of PVA glue and paint over the twigs.

This does not change the look and feel from a sensory standpoint but it does create a sort of sealer coat that lessens shedding to a great degree! 🙂   Leave to dry.

4. Have your child twine the brown string over the twigs. Talk about how vines are creepers that twine their way around whichever structure is available. Secure by tying a knot.

4. While your child is working on the twining, cut some grapes out of the purple colour paper.

5. With a marker, draw a block letter v on an artblock sheet.

4. Paste on your vine, and the grapes.

We added some leaves as well, cut from a forest background from an old magazine.  🙂

**********

John 15:5 – I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.

God helps me
God helps me
In my Bible book I read that
God helps me

God keeps me
God keeps me
In my Bible book I read that
God keeps me

**********

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Scenes from Cherating « Wonderbee… - June 14, 2010

Leave a Reply

