Sufficient grace

We’ve all been fighting the cough and cold in the past week.
With the added complexity of a change of routine – DH moved into a new job last week which requires him to leave early in the morning before our usual waking time – that’s left me on my own to manage the kids, prepare and give them breakfast, before changing to leave for work.

So last week was a real adjustment for both of us (probably for the kids too to get used to not seeing Daddy around when they woke up in the mornings).

Last night, as we got the kids ready for bed, DH and I exchanged tired glances and I paused to lean on his shoulders for a comforting hug.

DD got down from her bed where she’d already comfortably settled herself. Throwing her arms around me, she said “It’s okay mummy, it’s okay.” and patted me gently.
She then cheerfully climbed back into bed and initiated a rousing version of our usual bedtime wind-down Sandra Boynton rhyme.

I couldn’t hold back my laughter. And my tears.

And as all four of us chorused the last line of the rhyme together, laughing through my tears, I gave thanks to God.

For that little gesture of grace and sensitivity from DD.
And for reminding me of the daily measure of that greater heavenly grace He promises, sufficient for each new day and week.

Image from Heartlight.org                                                            image from heartlight

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” ~ Matthew 11:28 – 30

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

