Turning three: Part III

DD had her birthday celebration with her friends in Sunday School today. Wanting to avoid eleventh hour scrambles and not really wanting to do cupcakes like every other person has done, I decided to go for an agar-agar cake.
This year to date, all our “cakes” have been non-conventional frozen confectionery. Not purposely planned, by the way.

I loved how the pink and chocolate turned out. I think the kids were quite impressed too, right up till the moment they tasted the agar-agar.
Then I think they didn’t quite know what to make of its consistency as it didn’t seem any of them had ever tried agar-agar before. Maybe they were expecting more of a melt-in-the-mouth jelly. 

Oh well.  🙂

This year’s celebration has been an interesting process.

  1. Making the cheesecake was a great mother-daughter bonding session.  I hope it’s just the start to many more in the future. 🙂  And with DH and DS chipping in to help as well, it also turned out to be a really meaningful celebration for us all to (literally) enjoy the fruits of our labour.
  2. I learnt how to make agar-agar from my mom!  And realised that it wasn’t as difficult as I’d thought it would be.  I probably won’t make it for preschoolers again, probably just for family. 😉  It brought back many nostalgic memories of the agar-agar desserts my mom used to make for me to bring to my end-of-year school parties.
  3. I rode an elephant! And so did DH and my parents. We probably would never have done it if DD hadn’t first brought up the idea. 😀
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. My mother’s agar-agar recipe « Wonderbee… - March 19, 2010

Leave a Reply

