Thank you

After today I’ll be slowly winding down the number of pump sessions to eventually pack my faithful and trusty Medela pump back into its box. It has served me well. Helped me provide milk for two children for 12.75 months each. It’s high time for it (and me!) to get a good rest. 🙂

Some time ago, I wrote about DS’s nursing strike and how I wasn’t sure if I was going to make it to the one-year mark on exclusive pumping alone. Some of you wrote and texted me with encouraging words to persevere as much as I could and to trust God for all the other things. I want to say a big Thank You.

Thanks 

Your encouragement was a wonderful source of strength at a difficult and emotionally-draining period.
At the time, I thought to myself “Look at all these articles on the net talking about nursing strikes ending within a few days or a week or a month, or 40 days. And here is mine with no end in sight. Ever. Despite trying everything recommended by La Leche, Kellymom and the books and talking to countless counsellors. Bleah!”

Well, 110 days have passed since then and I have freezer stock to last him on total breastmilk for another three weeks. Granted it’s not the biggest achievement in life and I’m sure there are tons of mums out there who have done much more. But it’s big enough to me. 🙂

I guess God gives each of us different experiences so that collectively there’s always a story and testimony out there to bless a person in need. And here’s my story to contribute to the dearth of stories on the world wide web about nursing strikes that never ended. Yes it can happen. No, you don’t have to give up. Yes, you can find a way to overcome the circumstances. Yes, so long as God gives grace and you set your mind and body to the task, you can hit your personal target. And maybe more. 😀

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Thank you”

  1. twoculturemom says :

    Hooray! I think this year has been a time of real growth in perseverance and selflessness for you–and both of those traits are needed for becoming more like Christ.

    1 John 3

    1How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him. 2Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. **But we know that when he appears,[a]we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. ** 3Everyone who has this hope in him purifies himself, just as he is pure.

Leave a Reply

