Eggless Sponge

Ten weeks ago, I had this crazy idea in my head to bake DS’s birthday cake. Six recipes and a whole lot of taste testing later…I think I can finally say I have it. A recipe that works for me. 

I’m sure the family is so relieved. “Let ‘em eat cake” is probably the scariest phrase of the month in this household….we’ve all eaten so much cake we’ve got it pouring out our ears!!

Of course, much of this has to do with me not being able to just live with any cake recipe. It has to be healthy, it has to use less sugar, it has to ideally not contain egg whites because one shouldn’t give egg whites to a child until he’s after a year old (yeah, I’m anally compliant that way with what the book says), it has to not contain nuts or any allergenic ingredients so that it’s safe for general consumption by the younger set (read: toddlers), it has to be easy to obtain the ingredients, etc etc.

All I can say after this is…thank God a good friend has kindly agreed to frost the cake for me. If I have to test cake frosting as well…
Okay I exaggerate – honestly, it’s been a pretty good learning process for me. In the past couple of weeks through trying out all these non-traditional cake recipes, I’ve learnt to make homemade no-sugar applesauce, for another eggless recipe that uses just applesauce and molasses and flour to make a gingerbread-ish apple spice cake that DD likes. But that’s a post for another day 🙂

So, here’s the recipe that finally topped the approval scorecard on the most counts. 😀 The recipe is from Cookshelf Baking by Emma Patmore, and it’s suitable for vegetarians as well.

Eggless sponge

Eggless sponge

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups self raising wholemeal flour
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 cup caster sugar
6 tbsp sunflower oil (I used canola)
1 cup water
1 tsp vanilla flavouring
4 tbsp strawberry or raspberry reduced-sugar spread

1. Grease two 20 cm/8 inch sandwich cake tins (layer pans) and line with baking parchment.
2. Sieve the flour and baking powder into a mixing bowl, stirring in any bran remaining in the sieve. Stir in the caster sugar.
3. Pour in the oil, water and vanilla flavouring and mix well for about a minute until the mixture is a smooth consistency.
4. Divide the mixture between the prepared tins.
5. Bake in a preheated oven, 180°C for 25-30 minutes until the centre springs back when lightly touched. Leave to cool in the tins, then turn out and transfer to a wire rack.
6. To serve, remove the baking parchment and place one of the sponges on to a serving plate. Spread with the jam and place the other sponge on top. Dust with a little caster sugar if desired.

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A very happy birthday! « Wonderbee… - August 16, 2009

Leave a Reply

