This is my Father’s world

On Saturday evening, when we were outdoors after dinner, DD asked me “Mama, you want to do this?” Stretching out her arms and lifting her head to face the sky, she laughed, her joy rising on the evening breeze rustling through the trees.

And so I followed suit and this is what we saw.

Evening sky1

Evening sky2

Maybe to you and me, it is nothing much. Just an evening sky getting darker by sunset. But to an innocent and bright-eyed little one, it is her Father’s world. To her, there is new wonder and discovery every day in God’s creation.

The trees are so tall. The wind is so strong. The sky is so huge and so blue. The clouds are so white. And some are red too, from the rays of the setting sun.

May we never become so blasé that we forget to stop and behold our Father’s world and rest ourselves in the thought. All creation declares His praise, and He speaks to us everywhere.

This is my Father’s world, and to my listening ears
All nature sings, and round me rings the music of the spheres.
This is my Father’s world: I rest me in the thought
Of rocks and trees, of skies and seas;
His hand the wonders wrought.

This is my Father’s world, the birds their carols raise,
The morning light, the lily white, declare their Maker’s praise.
This is my Father’s world: He shines in all that’s fair;
In the rustling grass I hear Him pass;
He speaks to me everywhere.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

