Banana bread

Banana bread

Ingredients
3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
1/3 cup melted butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg, beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups plain flour

Method
Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 45 minutes. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

This recipe’s been in a word file on my pc for years and years and I pulled it out last night because we’d run out of bread for breakfast. I cannot remember where it came from now, so am unable to attribute it. The smells coming from the kitchen at 11pm were heavenly. Too bad that the bread turned out a bit on the dry side. The outside was crisp, which I wasn’t sure was the right result but DH always likes the crisp top off muffins and cakes, so it suits him fine! 🙂 

I’m thinking this could have been because I used smaller bananas and had to remove some portions which had turned black from bruising. I turned off the top heat of the oven halfway, and although the original recipe called for baking it for an hour, I stopped the oven at 45 minutes because I thought the bread was going to end up a tad too brown if I left it longer. I also cheated (I always do) on the sugar. Whenever a recipe calls for 1/2 cup or 1/3 cup, I typically measure out less in the name of health. Not sure if any of these factors have anything to do with the texture of the bread turning out not soft enough!  😉

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

